Making Ink

Making Ink 1Making Ink 2I’ve tried several different methods to create large fields of flat black in my drawings over the last several years. I was using sumi ink for a while since it created a more even tone than india ink. However, I recently discovered the oriental method of grinding an ink stick made from pine soot against slate to create fresh ink without the level of glue or binder found in bottled sumi. It’s definitely a more time intensive process, but the meditative nature of grinding the ink gives me more time to think about my drawings.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Making Ink

  1. Hi Jacob,
    Yes, I too find that in the slowing down and preparing to create art, there is time to meditate and even pray. I think this is vital for creating hopeful and life giving art.

Leave a Reply

